Thursday, November 13, 2014


Marion County Services for the Developmentally Disabled 

is a local governmental entity commonly known as a Senate Bill 40 Board, responsible for administering county tax funds for the development and operation of services for individuals with developmental disabilities. In 1988 the citizens of Marion County approved a tax levy that would be used exclusively for those with developmental disabilities.

Marion County residents and family members with a developmental disability such as autism, cerebral palsy, congenital disabilities, down’s syndrome, epilepsy (and other seizure disorders), and mental retardation are eligible for services.
To be eligible for services, an individual must have a disability:
  • A mental and/or physical disability which began before the age of twenty-two.
  • Likely to continue indefinitely.
  • Results in major problems with two or more of the following:
    • Living and working independently
    • Communication
    • Self direction
    • Learning
    • Mobility
    • Self-care

No comments:

Post a Comment